Still recovering from my GMAT defeat

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Still recovering from my GMAT defeat

by neegej » Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:03 am
Hey guys,

I have been a member of Beat The GMAT for a while, but this is my first post. I really enjoyed reading everyone's stories while I studied for my own GMAT exam and I hope to hear from more of you as I share mine.

So here's my story. After putting it off for many months I finally got serious about studying for the GMAT in October. I decided to give self-studying a try at first, using the 60-day beat the gmat guide to help me. My tools of the trade were as follows

All Manhattan GMAT guides
Kaplan Math Workbook
Kaplan GMAT 800
GMAT Official Guide 12th Ed
GMAT Quant Official Guide 1st Ed
GMAT Verbal Official Guide 2nd Ed

I adjusted my study guide for the Manhattan GMAT books and quickly realized that 60 days worth of studying while working 50+ hours a week would be too daunting a task so I pushed my exam ahead until the middle of Jan 2011. I studied about 1.5-3hrs after work almost every day outside of a few b/c my brain couldn't take it after work and about 3-5 hrs on the weekends for about three months. I started off somewhat well, going from a 490 in my first GMAT Prep CAT to a 670 by my 4th MGMAT CAT. I felt I was well on my way to slaying the beast on test day.