is gmat really a major obstacle in applying?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
I took gmat yesterday and got a 570. obviously it is deemed as bad score.

I was so disappointed because it was my second time to take the exam.

I got a even worse at the first time. I tried to find out what was the problem, and I thought that the failure might because I didn't commit myself to it. I decided to respect this exam and started to learn every odds and ends about GMAT.

I read "princeton Crack the GMAT" to get familiar with this exam
I digged into the Manhattan SC to build up a concrete concept about grammar
I studied Powerscore to understand fully the logic fallacies
I read 3 passages a day to train my reading
Finally of course I did a OG12 twice, blue Verbal, 5 Manhattan Cats and 3 Prep to apply the theory and pace myself.

I thought my schedule was good and I became more confident at this exam. Of course I couldn't make it perfect. I had to admit that I could not get a 700 within 1 month, but I didn't expect a <600. I don't think I deserve it.

When I retrospected this time, I found that I already built up an OG-way of thinking when doing the excise. Brick by brick, I realized that GMAT is not unconqurable! It is just an exam~I learned a lot in this month. At this moment, although the best way might be to do it again, I didn't want to think about retake! I stopped and asked why should I stick myself on this exam for so long and long that I seem to forget what I do all of this for!