700 (Q44, V41) - Did I just beat the gmat or it beat me?!?!?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Writing this post with mixed feelings.

I am unpleasantly surprised by my quant score of 44 (68 percentile) - I was consistently scoring 49 to 51 on quant in my practice exams. The verbal score is in the realm of what I was scoring on practice exams. The cause could be the fact that I could not get much sleep the night before, and the PS questions were tiring me out during the exam.

Realistically, I was expecting a GMAT score of 730~740. I would have definitely written it again if I had scored below 700, but 700 puts me on the fence.

Should I bother to write the exam again? Or is a 740 vs a 700 not going to make much of a difference considering my profile?

Some background: I am an engineer, working in the Management Consulting industry in Canada. I have about 6 years of work experience. Target schools are INSEAD, Harvard, Booth, and Wharton.

Would really appreciate some input.

Thanks.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by Victory_GMAT » Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:45 pm
Congrats! Good score. As you got digit 7 in your score so you can't say that GMAT beat you. Surely you beat the GMAT.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by Victory_GMAT » Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:54 pm
beatingit: