700 - (Q 44 / V 41) - 90th Pct ( Ballin' on a Budget )

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:700
I took the GMAT back in April and scored a 700. ( I discovered this site one week before taking the test while trying to find sample questions, and have been browsing but never posted till now ). I'm satisfied, but not ecstatic, partially b/c a couple days earlier I'd notched a 740 on a practice exam (from mba.com) under realistic conditions. However, all things considered, I'd also had practice scores ranging 620-680 prior to my final practice test during my final week of studying.

I'll post more debriefing if you guys want, but I was studying off and on for about three months during winter 2009. I studied more consistently at the beginning of 2010, and during the last month I made a very concerted effort to try to study every day for at least a little bit in an attempt to keep my mind sharp and strengthen my mental stamina.
Last edited by kbdullah on Sun May 16, 2010 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by nifoui7 » Sat May 15, 2010 4:04 am
congrats on your score!

I'd love to read you full debrief. I Also tend to score higher in verbal than quant, but have no reached the 41 level in verbal, so I'd be interested to learn about your verbal strategy!
Nifoui
Wanna Get 710 :S

GMAT Score:700

by kbdullah » Sun May 16, 2010 3:58 pm
So, after reading some of the other posts in this forum, I noticed that I used a smaller set of study materials. Here's my list of study materials :

GMAT 12th Edition Review
Free Test Prep Software from mba.com

I found the 12th Edition a good source for practice questions, as it gives answers as well as explanations that aid your analysis of what you did wrong.