Quant Issues - Courses?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Quant Issues - Courses?

by bluemiles » Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:46 am
I recently took the GMAT and scored a 680 (43Q and 40V). I'm 26 and have worked in Energy Consulting since I graduated from University. I was a history major in school and didn't taken any quant courses.

I plan on applying to Bschool for the Fall of 2010 so I have some time. I know I'm going to need to demonstrate my quantitative abilities in order to get in B-School. Is it necessary to take several full college level quant courses before I apply to schools? If so, what quant courses would schools be looking for me to have completed?

Also, I've heard of an online course called MBA Math which is supposed to be a good refresher for pre-MBA students. Would this course be enough to get me prepared?

I'm looking to apply to the following schools:

Darden
Kenan-Flagler
University of Toronto
York
Georgetown
U Maryland
Rice
McCombs
University of Flordia

If I do well enough in extra quant courses, combined with my gmat, work exp. and gpa (3.2 from a top Candian school), are these reasonable schools to apply to?

Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:38 pm
Dear bluemiles,