Which is better - UC Davis MBA or UC Irvine MBA?

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
My apps were accepted by UC Davis & UC Irvine for fall 2012 Full time MBA.
Could you please share your thoughts on which one is better choice ?

by ZuluMong » Mon May 21, 2012 8:44 am
I'm a UC Davis undergraduate alumni and potential applicant for next year so my nod goes to Davis, but take my comments with a grain of salt.

Davis is situated 20 minutes away from Sacramento (California's capitol city) and about an hour away from the SF Bay Area. You'll have a chance to fight for tech and finance jobs out in the Bay Area, but you'll be competing with Berkeley (Haas) and Stanford MBAs (not to mention other top schools) for the most coveted positions. Sacramento is becoming the home away from home for top Bay Area companies and some have established offices near the area (Intel, HP, even Apple I think). The part time program (with a satellite campus in the Bay Area) appears to be a feeder program for Intel and Chevron, so the networking prospects may not so bad for a "regional" school.

The city of Davis is a nice, quiet small town where you'll be able to bike, walk, or take a bus onto campus (last time I was there buses were free to students). Rents average around $1,100 I believe for a 1 bedroom apartment. A car will be necessary to drive out to the Bay Area and Sacramento for interviews, company visits, etc.

Reported salaries for first year MBA graduates at Davis are higher than those of Irvine, but I have to believe that those finding work in the Bay Area (where cost of living can be pretty high) skew the numbers a bit. At the end of the day it'll really depend on your post-MBA goals and where you'd like to potentially live and work.

by brighter » Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:19 pm
Bad impression with UC Davis MBA

Things I wish I had known about the UC Davis MBA Graduate School of Management