Value of International Experience

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Value of International Experience

by praachiee » Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:42 am
Hello Team,

I am a Computer Engineering graduate from NIT in India from the 2011 batch. I have been working in ZS Associates in Business Technology track for almost 3 years now. I have been promoted to Associate Consultant this January.
We provide technology solutions to US based Pharma clients. I along with my peer AC manage a team of 10 people.
Extra-curriculars: I have represented my institute in Badminton and short distance running for national level inter-college sports tournaments. I am passionate about dancing.
Post MBA i would like to pursue a consulting career.

I have been thinking of targeting Kellogg,Tuck,Yale,Booth,etc. Kellogg is definitely my dream school. I am planning to apply this October.

The thing is I have an opportunity at work of travelling on-shore to the United States for 6 months in November to manage the client side. I am looking forward to this opportunity and learning experience. I would be the on-shore lead in this role- would be learning from my consultant in the beginning and eventually taking over her role in the project, being the single point of client contact for my 10 member India based team.

The timing of my on-site assignment is such that I cannot mention about it in applications in Round 1 for which deadline is in October.
Do you think applying in Round 2 would be a better decision in my case? I have heard that R2 is comparatively tougher, plus being an international applicant, there are a lot of visa formalities which may make it difficult for me. Do you think applying next year makes more sense?
How important in international experience for B-schools. Does having international exposure change your chances significantly?

What would you suggest to a case such as mine?

Regards
Prachi

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant