Struggling to choose between 2yr and 1 yr MBA

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I took my GMAT and scored 720 (Q:49, V:40). I have over 9 years of work experience and have been in a lead role for over 3 years and with international experience of about 5 years. I am planning to apply to B schools this fall and am struggling to choose between 1 yr and 2 yr MBA programs. I have a technology background and plan to go back to technology after my MBA, but move to a different role...Mktg/Prod Mgmt. So, the domain(Tech) will remain the same but my role will change. What do you think I should go for - 1 yr or 2 yr MBA ?

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:42 members
GMAT Score:740

by Jessica@VeritasPrep » Mon Apr 26, 2010 8:45 am
Congratulations on your GMAT score! It sounds like you also have solid work experience. I'd be interested to hear which specific programs you are planning to target. When you say "one-year program" - what are you referring to? Do you mean an EMBA (Executive MBA) or a program like the condensed Columbia degree or INSEAD?

Personally, I am biased (I did a traditional two-year program at Chicago Booth), but, if you plan to continue working for your same company initially, an EMBA might make sense (especially for someone with your level of experience).

Provide some additional details and I'll try to give you more pros/cons!
Jessica
Veritas Prep

Enroll now. Pay later. Take advantage of Veritas Prep's flexible payment plan options

by Pediasure » Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:50 am
Hi Jessica,

Thank You for your reply.

I was talking about the one year MBAs likes the ones at INSEAD, Kellogg (Accl MBA), LBS (not 1 year, but 15 months), Indian School of Business..etc. I do not plan to do an EMBA.

Thanks,
P

MBA Student
Followed by:9 members
GMAT Score:640

by hk » Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:26 am