So I begin the journey again

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

So I begin the journey again

by mbaorbust3 » Mon Aug 25, 2014 8:19 pm
I started this journey 3 years ago and I wish I had stuck with it the first time around but my dad passed away 2 years ago and my mother almost died in a car crash so I did get a bit off track. I did end up taking the GMAT once a few weeks after my dad's funeral and scored a 360. I've always been terrible at standardized exams (with the circumstances making things worse) and I'm not sure how I'll fair this time around. All I know is I've been doing my job for 10 years and I absolutely hate it. I know I need to go back to school as a lot has changed since I last went, but at 34 I really don't know if I can get into a decent program. I still have my old books from Manhattan GMAT and some newer material from MG from a friend. I really do hope I can do this, I promised my dad I would and I've always been a man of my word. Any suggestions would be great.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:05 pm
Hi mbaorbust3,

Based on what you've described, it's understandable that you were side-lined a bit from your path to an MBA. The GMAT is almost exactly the same though (although now there's a section called Integrated Reasoning instead of the Issue Essay), so you might still be familiar with some of the material that is tested.

It sounds like you're concerned about your age, but you shouldn't be. Although you might be a bit older than the average applicant (depending on the schools and programs you apply to), you'll have more experience than the average applicant, so you might be able to turn that to your advantage.