• Kaplan Test Prep
    Free Practice Test & Review
    How would you score if you took the GMAT

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Kaplan Test Prep
  • EMPOWERgmat Slider
    1 Hour Free
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    EMPOWERgmat Slider
  • Magoosh
    Magoosh
    Study with Magoosh GMAT prep

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Magoosh
  • Target Test Prep
    5-Day Free Trial
    5-day free, full-access trial TTP Quant

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Target Test Prep
  • Veritas Prep
    Free Veritas GMAT Class
    Experience Lesson 1 Live Free

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Veritas Prep
  • Economist Test Prep
    Free Trial & Practice Exam
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Economist Test Prep
  • Varsity Tutors
    Award-winning private GMAT tutoring
    Register now and save up to $200

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Varsity Tutors
  • e-gmat Exclusive Offer
    Get 300+ Practice Questions
    25 Video lessons and 6 Webinars for FREE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    e-gmat Exclusive Offer
  • PrepScholar GMAT
    5 Day FREE Trial
    Study Smarter, Not Harder

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    PrepScholar GMAT

Q.65 Problem Solving GMAT Review 13th Edition

This topic has 3 expert replies and 1 member reply
Priyaranjan Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
04 Mar 2015
Posted:
25 messages
Thanked:
1 times
Target GMAT Score:
700

Q.65 Problem Solving GMAT Review 13th Edition

Post Sat Mar 14, 2015 3:32 am
Elapsed Time: 00:00
  • Lap #[LAPCOUNT] ([LAPTIME])
    The average distance between the Sun and a certain planet is approximately 23*10^14 inches. Which of the following is closest to the average distance between the Sun and the planet, in kilometres? (1 Kilometre is approximately 3.9*10^4 inches)

    A) 7.1*10^8
    B) 5.9*10^9
    C) 1.6*10^10
    D) 1.6*10^11
    E) 5.9*10^11

    Answer is B. As per the OG answer description, it took the approximate value of 23/39 as 2/4 and derived at a value of 5*10^9.But, what will be the answer if the approximate value of 23/39 will be taken as 2/3?

    Need free GMAT or MBA advice from an expert? Register for Beat The GMAT now and post your question in these forums!
    Post Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:45 am
    The prompt as posted has a typo.
    It should read as follows:

    Quote:
    The average distance between the Sun and a certain
    planet is approximately 2.3 X 10^14 inches. Which of the
    following is closest to the average distance between
    the Sun and the planet, in kilometers? (1 kilometer is
    approximately 3.9 X 10^4 inches.)

    (A) 7.1 X 10^8
    (B) 5.9 X 10^9
    (C) 1.6 X 10^10
    (D) 1.6 X 10^11
    (E) 5.9 X 10^11
    As for your question:

    Priyaranjan wrote:
    what will be the answer if the approximate value of 23/39 will be taken as 2/3?
    (2.3 * 10¹⁴)/(3.9 * 10⁴) ≈ 2/3 * 10¹⁰ ≈ 0.66 * 10¹⁰ = 6.6 * 10⁹.

    The closest answer choice is B.

    _________________
    Mitch Hunt
    GMAT Private Tutor
    GMATGuruNY@gmail.com
    If you find one of my posts helpful, please take a moment to click on the "Thank" icon.
    Available for tutoring in NYC and long-distance.
    For more information, please email me at GMATGuruNY@gmail.com.

    Thanked by: Priyaranjan, ddg
    Free GMAT Practice Test How can you improve your test score if you don't know your baseline score? Take a free online practice exam. Get started on achieving your dream score today! Sign up now.
    Post Sat Mar 14, 2015 11:10 am
    Priyaranjan wrote:
    The average distance between the Sun and a certain planet is approximately 23*10^14 inches. Which of the following is closest to the average distance between the Sun and the planet, in kilometres? (1 Kilometre is approximately 3.9*10^4 inches)

    A) 7.1 x 10^8
    B) 5.9 x 10^9
    C) 1.6 x 10^10
    D) 1.6 x 10^11
    E) 5.9 x 10^11
    We can solve the question using equivalent ratios.
    We're comparing kilometers and inches, so the ratio is kilometers/inches

    1 Kilometre is approximately 3.9 x 10^4 inches
    So, we have the ratio: 1/(3.9 x 10^4)

    We're told the number of inches to the sun (2.3 X 10^14) and we must find the number of equivalent kilometers.
    Let d = the number of kilometers.
    So, we have the ratio: 1/(2.3 X 10^14)

    We can now write: 1/(3.9 x 10^4) = d/(2.3 X 10^14)
    To solve for d, first cross multiply to get: d(3.9 x 10^4) = 1(2.3 X 10^14)
    Solve for d to get: d = (2.3 X 10^14)/(3.9 x 10^4)
    d = [2.3/3.9][(10^14)/(10^4)]
    d = [0.59][10^10]
    Check the answer choices...not there.
    To get our response into the proper format, rewrite 0.59 as 5.9 x 10^-1 to get...
    d = [5.9 x 10^-1][10^10]
    d = 5.9 x 10^9
    Answer: B

    Cheers,
    Brent

    _________________
    Brent Hanneson – Founder of GMATPrepNow.com
    Use our video course along with Beat The GMAT's free 60-Day Study Guide

    Check out the online reviews of our course
    Come see all of our free resources

    Thanked by: Priyaranjan
    GMAT Prep Now's comprehensive video course can be used in conjunction with Beat The GMAT’s FREE 60-Day Study Guide and reach your target score in 2 months!
    misterholmes Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
    Joined
    16 Dec 2009
    Posted:
    37 messages
    Thanked:
    9 times
    Test Date:
    November 2009
    GMAT Score:
    780
    Post Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:41 am
    Priyaranjan wrote:
    The average distance between the Sun and a certain planet is approximately 23*10^14 inches. Which of the following is closest to the average distance between the Sun and the planet, in kilometres? (1 Kilometre is approximately 3.9*10^4 inches)

    A) 7.1*10^8
    B) 5.9*10^9
    C) 1.6*10^10
    D) 1.6*10^11
    E) 5.9*10^11

    Answer is B. As per the OG answer description, it took the approximate value of 23/39 as 2/4 and derived at a value of 5*10^9.But, what will be the answer if the approximate value of 23/39 will be taken as 2/3?
    Priyaranjan,

    Part 1: It's fine to take the approximation as 2/4, provided you keep in mind that it's less than 23/39. Also fine to estimate at 2/3, keeping in mind that it's more than 23/39. An estimate can be paired with a direction to improve eliminations, so this is a good habit to practice.

    Part 2: Assuming the estimate 2/3, the result as 6.6x10^9, and this is greater than the true value.

    Regards,
    Mike
    www.google.com/+MikeMiagi

    _________________
    www.gmatdojo.com
    Mindfulness, Concentration, Insight

    GMAT/MBA Expert

    Post Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:45 am
    Priyaranjan wrote:
    The average distance between the Sun and a certain planet is approximately 23*10^14 inches. Which of the following is closest to the average distance between the Sun and the planet, in kilometres? (1 Kilometre is approximately 3.9*10^4 inches)

    A) 7.1*10^8
    B) 5.9*10^9
    C) 1.6*10^10
    D) 1.6*10^11
    E) 5.9*10^11

    Answer is B. As per the OG answer description, it took the approximate value of 23/39 as 2/4 and derived at a value of 5*10^9.But, what will be the answer if the approximate value of 23/39 will be taken as 2/3?
    Solution:

    This problem is a unit conversion with an added twist of scientific notation. We need to convert 2.3 x 10^14 inches to KILOMETERS. We are given that 1 kilometer is approximately 3.9 X 10^4 inches. We also should recognize that we are being asked which of the following is CLOSEST to the average distance between the Sun and the planet, in kilometers. Because we are being asked for an approximation, we can use some estimation here.

    To convert 2.3 x 10^14 inches to kilometers, we need to multiply 2.3 x 10^14 inches by the ratio of:

    1 km/(3.9 x 10^4 inches)

    However, before doing this multiplication, it will make things easier by “cleaning up” each scientific notation expression. Let’s start with 2.3 x 10^14 inches.

    2.3 x 10^14 inches

    is equivalent to

    23 x 10^13 inches

    Notice that because we turn 2.3 into 23, or move the decimal one place to the right, we have to then turn 10^14 into 10^13, or move the decimal one place to the LEFT to counterbalance the fact that we’ve moved the decimal one place to the right for 2.3.

    Next we can adjust 3.9 x 10^4 inches. However, we can simply round this value up to 4 x 10^4 inches because the question only asks for the closest answer.

    Since we’ve rounded 3.9 up to 4, let’s round 23 up to 24 also. That is, we are converting 24 x 10^13 inches into kilometers given that 1 km is approximately 4 x 10^4 inches:

    (24 x 10^13 inches) x 1 km/(4 x 10^4 inches)

    (24 x 10^13)/(4 x 10^4) km

    We can break this work up into two separate calculations:

    1) 24/4 = 6

    2) 10^13/10^4 = 10^9

    Thus, our answer is about 6 x 10^9 km.

    We see that the closest answer is 5.9 x 10^9.

    Answer: B

    _________________

    Scott Woodbury Stewart Founder & CEO
    GMAT Quant Self-Study Course - 500+ lessons 3000+ practice problems 800+ HD solutions
    5-Day Free Trial 5-DAY FREE, FULL-ACCESS TRIAL TTP QUANT

    Best Conversation Starters

    1 Vincen 152 topics
    2 lheiannie07 61 topics
    3 Roland2rule 49 topics
    4 LUANDATO 44 topics
    5 ardz24 40 topics
    See More Top Beat The GMAT Members...

    Most Active Experts

    1 image description Brent@GMATPrepNow

    GMAT Prep Now Teacher

    140 posts
    2 image description Rich.C@EMPOWERgma...

    EMPOWERgmat

    110 posts
    3 image description EconomistGMATTutor

    The Economist GMAT Tutor

    109 posts
    4 image description GMATGuruNY

    The Princeton Review Teacher

    107 posts
    5 image description DavidG@VeritasPrep

    Veritas Prep

    72 posts
    See More Top Beat The GMAT Experts