Profile Evaluation

Launched June 18, 2009
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation

by arni » Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:59 pm
Profile: M / 32 / India

I am a project manager in one of the fastest growing IT service companies of India. I manage multiple projects - starting from project initiation to resource scheduling, cost-budgeting, people management - and also involve in pre-sales activities.

Past Exp: * Engineering Grad,
* 3.1 GPA score,
* Total experience of 9 years - includes program management, IT consulting
* International experience of 5.5 years - largest telecom service provider in US

GMAT:

To appear. Considering I am from the overrepresented pool of applicants what could be a safe score to apply for the schools I have listed below. I looked at the avg gmat score of the class profiles of the schools. Do you think score of 720+ is a safe call?

Plan:

I realize that I'm getting streamlined to a specific direction in my career - that is IT Consulting. It feels like stagnation at career. After talking to peers, higher-ups, people from other service industries I realize that I require to hone up and diversify my profile in generic consulting and strategy. Now, this could be done by attending external courses. I talked to correspondents of such courses provided by external sources tied up with my organizations. I was not too convinced on that. I realize that I can achieve it over a period of time through a learning experience - though it could be a tough one after eight years of study break, but I think mba program is a great fit to achieve this.

My age and my overrepresented pool push me in a very competitive position but I certainly want to know in details about my chances in the schools listed below:

Target Schools:

US:

1. Kellog
2. Duke
3. Darden
4. Ross
5. Tuck
6. UNC Kenan-Flagler

Europe:

1. Insead
2. Said
3. IMD
4. Cranfield

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:8 members
GMAT Score:730