profile evaluation please

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:700

profile evaluation please

by XanthusAres » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:58 am
Thanks for providing this service. I am a white 25 year old male and will be applying for school to start in 2012 when I will be 26. I got a 700 on the gmt I graduated cum laude with a bachelors degree in chemistry and a bachelors degree in biology and a gpa of 3.44 since then I have been working in research and development for a top 15 pharmaceutical company. I have had increasing job responsibility and have been promoted twice in three years. I also have been transferred once as well. I head up multiple groups at my company and coach a youth soccer team, work for the American cancer society habitat for humanity and am in charge of different groups at church. I am looking into Darden and Tuck as well as a few other top 20 schools. Am I qualified for these if I apply in the first round? I am not necessarily looking top 10 I don't think I have the gpa to get into one of those. I did receive As in all my math courses, calc 1 & 2, and stats. I got a c in physics 2 and in physical chemistry 2 other than that all a's and b's. Hank you for your help. My LORs will be from my current manager and my former manager and my research advisor and all will be top notch. Let me know if you need to know anything else. Thanks.

Ares

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:1 members
GMAT Score:740

by humblebee » Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:43 pm
Your background is actually pretty solid for a top10 (btw isn't Tuck a top10 school??)

- GPA: OK. Slightly under the '3.5' threshold.
- GMAT: Achieved the magicla mark
- Career Progression: Excellent
- Industry: Health care / bio tech /pharma which is a 'hot industry' especially for HBS
- Leadership: it sounds pretty great for your age - 'heading up multiple groups'