Profile Eval: Non-Profit exp, 3.5 gpa, 680 gmat

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
hello!

I'm new to beatthegmat, but from what I've seen so far, the interactions are very positive. Anyway, I wanted to gauge how competitive I might be as a candidate for some top programs. Right now, I'm looking at Stanford, Haas, Columbia.

So... my profile:

UNDERGRAD
3.5 GPA, PoliSci, UC San Diego, '04
Worked part-time.
Held multiple leadership positions in student org's.
Lots of concurrent community volunteer work
Did Summer Study Abroad program in Asia.

GMAT
First take: 680 - 83%V/77%Q
I may re-take, but just for this exercise, I'd like to evaluate my candidacy with the 680. =)

WORK EXP.
4 Yrs Non-profit Ethnic Arts Organization (in California)

COMMUNITY SERVICE
Endless list of volunteer work with the city, and with affiliates of my current non-profit employer.
After college, I did 1 YEAR volunteeer work in Asia which culminated in my co-founding of a non-profit organization. (i am still on the board for this organization)

EXTRA-CURRICS
Yoga
Photography - have exhibited in a few venues
Started my own do-it-myself arts & accessories company, with an online store.

My Goal is to start a social enterprise. And as far as essays go, I'm not too worried because I feel as though I have some pretty interesting stories to tell, and I have a lot of experience with grant writing, which calls for me to write a lot about my work's impact on communities, and future organizational goals.

Sorry for the long post. I just figure - the more info the better. THANKS!

usero

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by bigeater1 » Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:49 am