Preparation Class

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Preparation Class

by bcg4muva » Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:25 am
Has anyone taken a GMAT prep courses or comment on the best prep course? I'm exploring Manhattan's 9-week online course and Kaplan's one-month live class. Does anyone have experience with these programs (pro's/con's, precautions).

I took the GMAT one-week ago and scored a 570. I was very dissappointed. My practice scores ranged from 570 - 730. I studied for approx. two months on my own prior. Quantitative PS and DS are my weakest areas.

Do you recommend course/no course and which course is best?

Thanks.

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:614 members
GMAT Score:800

Re: Preparation Class

by Stuart@KaplanGMAT » Fri Mar 07, 2008 12:45 pm
bcg4muva wrote:Has anyone taken a GMAT prep courses or comment on the best prep course? I'm exploring Manhattan's 9-week online course and Kaplan's one-month live class. Does anyone have experience with these programs (pro's/con's, precautions).

I took the GMAT one-week ago and scored a 570. I was very dissappointed. My practice scores ranged from 570 - 730. I studied for approx. two months on my own prior. Quantitative PS and DS are my weakest areas.

Do you recommend course/no course and which course is best?

Thanks.
It should be no surprise that I'm going to recommend the Kaplan course!

However, if you have a choice between a 1 month course (twice a week) and a 2 month course (once a week), I'd definitely go with the latter, as it gives you more time between sessions to assimilate what you've learned. With either course you get 3 months of access to all of our resources, but if the more spread out course is available in your area it's the one that I'd recommend.

I'm not going to use this thread as a forum for selling the Kaplan course, but if you have any specific questions about its advantages feel free to PM or email me.

Stuart Kovinsky | Kaplan GMAT Faculty | Toronto