GMATPrep: 510. Need help

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

GMATPrep: 510. Need help

by royrijit1 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 3:54 am
Hello Experts,

I have been studying for GMAT for about 4 months now. I have MGMAT books to help me with the studies. Once done with the basic preparation (i.e. completing all the 10 books of MGMAT), I took the GMATPrep test today and scored a 510.

After taking the GMATPrep, I found that I am extremely slow in both Quant and Verbal (especially RC and CR) and I need to focus to improve my speed more than anything. I am planning to take the GMAT on first week of June and so I have around 2 months more to prepare.

Could you experts please guide me as to how I can effectively use this two month timeframe to prepare for the GMAT?

I am a working guy so I can devote 1.5 hours of study in the morning before leaving for office and in the night, I study for around 2 hours. I mostly study for around 8~10 hours each day in the weekends.

Books that I currently have:
OG 2015
OG Quant + Verbal Review
MGMAT: All 10 books
MGMAT: Advanced Quant
Kaplan Premier 2015

Thanks in advance for your kind help.

Legendary Member
Followed by:128 members
GMAT Score:770

by DavidG@VeritasPrep » Sat Apr 04, 2015 4:25 am
Can you give us a little more info? Was this your first practice exam? What was the quant/verbal split on that GMATPrep test? When you say that you were slow on both sections, does that mean that you feel as though you consistently spent too much time on questions, or does that mean that there were a handful of questions that you got stuck on, and this caused a ripple effect on subsequent problems?

(And one quick observation: 8-10 hours/day on weekends is a lot of time. I fear this will lead to burn out. You might want to consider shortening those a bit. You should still live your life while you're preparing for the exam.)
Veritas Prep | GMAT Instructor

Veritas Prep Reviews
Save $100 off any live Veritas Prep GMAT Course