MBA THIS YEAR OR NEXT YEAR

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

MBA THIS YEAR OR NEXT YEAR

by svikram » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:04 pm
Hi all,
I am a telecom engineer from India with four years of experience and wants to go to Business Consulting post mba. I want to work as a business development consultant in the telecom sector. where I will develop business, strategic, marketing, and technological expertise.targeted companies are Delloite,AT&T,Verisign,Cognizant,Accenture etc.
GMAT:-730
TOEFL:-103

I applied in round 2 in following 10 mba schools.

UNIVERSITY ===> STATUS
SMU COX===> ADMIT WITH 40K
KENAN FLAGLER-UNC Chapel Hill===> WAITLISTED
Ohio State University===> WAITLISTED
MCDONOUGH,GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY===> INTERVIEW 12 FEB
USC MARSHALL===> YET TO BE INTERVIEWED
CARNEGIE MEIION UNIVERSITY, TEPPER===> YET TO BE INTERVIEWED
KELLEY SCHOOL OF BUSINESS-INDIANA===> YET TO BE INTERVIEWED
Georgia Institute of Technology===> YET TO BE INTERVIEWED
Emory University===> REJECTED
University of Minnesota===> REJECTED

Since chances of admission are getting low day by day. I want your opinion on whether I should I go and take admission in SMU or should wait for 1 more year and apply again and what additional should I do in this one year.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:12 members
GMAT Score:770

by GeneralEducation » Mon Feb 09, 2015 5:13 am
Hi Vikram,

I would suggest you to prepare well for your upcoming interview rather than worrying and predicting about your chances. Wish you all the best prepare with some professional help if required do as many mocks as possible. You have decent profile so I feel you should apply to better ranked schools than SMU Cox. It makes sense to wait for one more year, build your profile and then apply. Let me know if you have any questions.

Regards,
Manish
Director (ISB Alumnus)
General Education - India's premier GMAT & Application Consulting company