Anxiety over quant

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Anxiety over quant

by cfleck » Sun Jan 11, 2015 10:05 am
I've been studying for the GMAT for about 2 months now, and am scheduled to take it on February 17. I've been following the Beat the GMAT 60-day study guide, but giving myself more time on some topics with which I struggle. I'm supposed to take the second CAT to see where I've made improvements and where I need to continue to focus, but when I hit the quant section, I freeze. It's like the last 2 months (and all of my high school and college courses) disappear and I go blank. I know it's a mental block because that's where I feel weakest when it comes to the test. I'm terrified this will happen on test day.

I plan on just working as many PS and DS problems as I can get my hands on to get more comfortable and try to build my confidence. I was just curious if anyone has any other suggestions?

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Sun Jan 11, 2015 1:46 pm
Hi cfleck,

Does this reaction happen on EVERY Quant question or only on certain types of questions? Some Test Takers have bad reactions to "wordy" questions, but many word problems are actually quite easy - they're more about taking notes and doing some basic arithmetic than anything else. For others, Geometry can be upsetting, but Geometry is really just about knowing which formulas apply.

Can you describe your reaction in a bit more detail?

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
Contact Rich at [email protected]

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Sun Jan 11, 2015 4:41 pm