A complete newbie to GMAT or any other standardised tests!

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi all,

I just decided to take a GMAT test in december (I even didn't book for any test date yet. Do I have to register for one ASAP or there's still time?). As you might have guessed from my previous statement, I don't know anything about GMAT! I graduated from BBA and just decided to apply for a master in finance in a target school in Europe. Since yesterday I started to research on the preparation phase, there are variety of different opinions on how to do so though. I need a big help to understand what should I do from scratch. First of all I should say something about myself and my objectives. First that English in not my first language and I don't consider myself excellent on the subject. Then, I have to add that I consider logic and reasoning to be my strengths in general but I know I have to work on my math and specially Geometry is one of my weaknesses. I am a fast learner but also very detail-oriented person, which sometimes makes me stick for a while to particular type of problems for the first attempt. My goal for score is to obtain 700+.
Additionally I did not even take any GMAT diagnosis/simulator so naturally I do not have any idea about my current score level. So there are people in this community and elsewhere who are suggesting to start with MGMAT study guide first before taking OG and on the other hand, there are other people who suggest vice-versa. There are people who suggest firstly to take a diagnosis test (or one of the two free test provided by GMAC) before even starting for preparation from scratch and in the contrary, others suggest to first go with MGMAT books then take a diagnosis and then go for the OG.