GMAT score: 680. Good enough profile?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members

GMAT score: 680. Good enough profile?

by Eagle Girl » Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:54 pm
Hi all,

I took GMAT yesterday and scored 680 (Q:48 and V: 35).
I doubt whether my overall profile is impressive enough to offset this score.

Here it is:

I am a 25 year old Indian Female.

My academic side has been consistently good right from my school days.
My CGPA: 8.1 / 10

And this is my work experience:
Worked in IT industry: 1 year
Worked as an Associate Software Engineer in Accenture India. Somehow IT was not my calling and I resigned the job. But on the plus side, I was working as an SAP consultant in Sales and Distribution module. So I have some basic knowledge about that.

Took up a part time course in Audio Engineering and started working on my music album. Now, I have interned in a music studio for three odd months and after that I have been mostly self employed. I composed songs, wrote lyrics and produced a 40 minute album with 10 tracks. Now I won't say my album was a commercial hit, but I still consider it my personal achievement.

Worked as a Journalist: 1 year
I have worked full time in an evening English Daily called News Today and it has been one of the most enriching experiences of my life. Since it was not a very big newspaper, I was able to get diverse exposure in different beats. I got to interact with people in different walks of life.

I have experience
reporting,
conducting interviews,
writing features,
covering entertainment - art, music, dance, drama,
reporting social / environmental issues,
writing about science and technology,
penning down off-beat stories of my choice,
editing sports columns,
attending product launches etc,
writing about lifestyle,
reviewing restaurants and food.