560 to 710... but with low quant

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

560 to 710... but with low quant

by kr13 » Sat Jun 14, 2014 3:05 pm
Hi everyone,

I'm thrilled that I just earned a 710 on the GMAT! This is higher than any of my practice tests (some of which were as low as 590). I studied for 5 months, so it feels like a huge relief.

However, I'm looking for advice regarding my score. I earned a 42 on Quant (54th percentile) and a 45 on Verbal (99th percentile) for an overall score of 710 (92nd percentile). I got a (disappointing) 3 on IR and haven't received my essay score back yet.

I took the GMAT a year ago and got a 560, with a Quant score of 32 (30th percentile) and Verbal score of 35 (74th percentile). I got a 6 on the essay and a 5 on IR.

As you can probably tell, math/quant in general is not my strong suit. My GPA from a top university is around 3.1, with a low grade in a statistics course.

I work in a very well-known and prestigious workplace that is not at all related to business.

I'm interested in applying to top schools but am not only limiting my choices to these schools. I'm curious to learn of folks' opinions on whether it's worth retaking the test. To be honest, I'm not at all confident that I could score a 710 again.

Thank you!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:18 pm
Hi kr13,