I`m still in shock, I got a devestating verbal score

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello,

I`m new in this forum and this is my first post, since I live in an underdeveloped country there is no GMAT expert here and I appreciate if you help me.

I have been studying GMAT for 10 months and used many different resources in order to get a 700+ score.

I have taken many CATs: 5 Manhattan CAT, 4 GMATprep, 6 800score, 1 free kaplan, 1 free Economist, 1 free Veritas.

During those exams, I never got a score below V28, in fact after purchasing e-gmat verbal course, my verbal skill got substantially improved.

Yesterday I took the exam and at first it went according my expectation with an easy AW, and IR questions were simple in my point of view. ( finally I got IR 6). So after the first section I was not in stress and I was in high sprite. Anyway, Quant was Ok and even though I`m not satisfied with its score, it was not really bad. ( I got Q 47).

When verbal section started, the first questions were a bit hard but not so hard that I could not answer them. during verbal test, I felt comfortable and in the middle of the exam I got a tough Bold face question which gave me this feeling that I was doing great in verbal. However, after finishing the exam on time I expected a V score over 35 but it was 21. I still don`t believe it and I don`t know what I have to do. I`m really devastated and I really need your help and advice.

is this experience odd or it is common? When is the appropriate time to retake the exam?

I still have a headache because of my score...

Thank you in advance

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Mon Apr 14, 2014 11:14 am
Hi hamidmax,

When someone's Verbal Scaled score is significantly lower than "normal", it's important to look at what was "normal" during your studies and what was not on Test Day.