Confusing situation 760 GMAT score

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
2007 Beat The GMAT Scholarship Winner!

Confusing situation 760 GMAT score

by RajenBP » Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:59 pm
Overall, I'm actually disappointed in my score.

In my practice tests I was scoring between 780-800 so I was expecting a score in that range. However, the exam threw a bunch of questions I wasn't overall comfortable with. Additionally, I don't think I did great on the essays. Probably 4-5.

I guess I'm done, but again, overall I felt I could have done much better. I studied for 3 weeks so I guess I got away pretty well.

I must give a lot of credit to the GMAT Manhattan courses, as I feel they were very helpful in boosting my score. If I scored what I was scoring in practice tests, it would have been around a 790-800.

My advice, be prepared to score 20-30 points less or more than what you were scoring in practice tests, as the actual GMAT will chuck questions at you that are a bit different from the ones you're used too.

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by BeatTheQwerty » Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:57 am
Were you scoring 780-800 on MGMAT practice tests, or on PowerPrep and GMATPrep software practice tests?

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by cgiles01 » Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:01 am
Congrats! I wouldn't sweat it. The returns are diminishing beyond 750 anyway. I scored 2 750's (MGMAT and GMATPrep) before the test and got a 730 on the actual. No big deal, time to start writing essays! Amazing score!

Chris
Giles

by RajenBP » Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:23 am
I was scoring the 780-800 on the MGMAT and the GMATPrep.

For the amount of time I studied and my score, I should be very grateful, it just feels like I didn't get what I could have gotten.

For all intensive purposes, it is what I needed though.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members