Good fit?

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Good fit?

by briangtsmith » Wed May 20, 2009 7:13 pm
Hi all!

I've decided to apply to an MBA program, and was aiming at the following schools: USC, Georgetown, Emory, Duke, and Vanderbilt.

I graduated from The George Washington University with a 3.20 GPA in International Affairs, concentrating in East Asian Relations and having studied abroad at Tokyo's Sophia University. I am proficient in Japanese.

By the time I apply, I will have had 2.5 years of experience. After interning during college at The Ritz-Carlton, I started as a hotel manager for Disney and was part of the re-opening team at The Plaza hotel in New York. Now I am working for a real estate company hoping to acquire the skills necessary to build my own hotel. Outside the office, I have a role on a nearby condo board, representing my company's investors in property issues.

I feel and MBA will help me gain a better perspective on the global economy and the proper quantitative/financial skills necessary to start my own company.

My practice GMAT's have been between 640 and 690...do I have a shot at my schools of choice?

In advance, thank you for your assistance!

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:17 members
GMAT Score:750

by Graham » Thu May 21, 2009 4:13 am
Dear Briangtsmith,

Thanks for your post! Please see my thoughts below:

I've decided to apply to an MBA program, and was aiming at the following schools: USC, Georgetown, Emory, Duke, and Vanderbilt.

>>I'm curious as to how you came up with this list. I presume you that you have a need/desire to be in the Southeast (assuming that USC is South Carolina and not Southern California)? Have you investigated the strength of each program in real estate and entrepreneurship (given your goals)? The reason I ask is because there are a number of programs with great offerings in these areas (Cornell, Wharton, Berkeley, Columbia, NYU come to mind)....