Dana's Quant Strategy suggestions

This topic has expert replies
Site Admin
Followed by:550 members
GMAT Score:770

by DanaJ » Wed May 20, 2009 11:56 am
I've decided to start this thread hoping that it might help some community members with their quant performance. It's not designed as something 100% solid, it's just going to be a collection of my thoughts on various topics or problems that we face when trying to Beat The GMAT. I'm not a GMAT expert, but I am considering teaching/tutoring some day, so any feedback is more than welcomed.

Thought I'd start with something I hate, so here goes...

NUMBER PICKING STRATEGY

I personally don't like this one. There's a good reason for this: most of the time it's a risky strategy. If you're not paying attention, the set of numbers you've selected might turn the whole thing around! I honestly prefer ye old algebraic method of solving things, since it's 100% safe (if employed correctly, of course).
However, there are a few instances when number picking is the recommended strategy.

COUNTEREXAMPLES
This is actually the only instance when I fully support number picking. Counterexamples are extremely useful in two instances:
- DS questions, when you're not really interested in solving a particular problem, but in establishing whether the info provided is or is not sufficient
- PS questions when an algebraic approach would take up too much time OR you're not really sure of how to solve a question by using the classical method

I'll try to illustrate each situation with a few official questions.

I. DS-ing

If n is an integer, is n + 2 a prime number?
1. n is a prime number
2. n + 1 is not a prime number