Please help me by sharing your thought

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:650

Please help me by sharing your thought

by V16 » Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:44 pm
Hi,
I seeking opinion on my unique and strange situation. I have a bachelors degree in Comp Science (non us). After my undergrad i did an MBA in management from a state college in Massachusettes with GPA 3.94. Now I am determined to go to HBS. So my question is with this background and already having an MBA is going to be a big negative point? Do they consider me!. I heard from people saying that top ten schools do not consider people who already pursued MBA. I have a work experiance of 3 years as an Analyst.

Please share your opinion on this.
thanks a lot.
v.

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:17 members
GMAT Score:750

by Graham » Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:38 am
Dear V,

Thanks for your post!

This is a great question and a subject of much debate. In general, when it comes to applying to the top b-schools when you already have an MBA, there are a few rules that apply:

1) Most top programs will say that they have no issue reviewing a file from someone who has pursued the degree at an earlier phase of their career. Of course, they usually follow this statement with one that indicates that the applicant in question had better make a strong case for needing a second MBA.

2) Most programs make a distinction between the applicant who earned an MBA immediately following ugrad and has worked for several years post-MBA vs. applicants who have just completed (or are currently completing an MBA) and are seeking to start over or transfer. Top schools typically do not accept transfers.

3) The standard profile of someone who is able to get into a top b-school despite already possessing an MBA goes as follows:

-the applicant pursued their first MBA right after college (usually outside of the USA)