please, i need expert's help

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:600

please, i need expert's help

by bek_gmat » Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:57 am
I'm just a beginner on GMAT thus I'm reading my very first book- The Princeton Review "Manual for GMAT". Inside the book there are example questions with no answer/explanation.
I need expert's help to identify the answer to these questions and somehow explaining why it's so.

So here we go:

1. The Department of Education has concluded that if children learn to read and did math from an early age, they will require less remedial work in later school years.

A did math from an early age, they will require less remedial work in later school years
B did math from an early age, they require in later school years less remedial work
C do math from an early age, they require less remedial work in later school years
D do math from an early age, they will be required in later school years to do less remedial work
E did math from an early age, less remedial work will be required in later school years

I think the answer here is C. But not sure about the second part (will/present simple) of the sentence.

2. Although Smith once championed the charity, he changed his mind after a journalist linked its origin to a corrupt individual.

A once championed the charity
B had once championed the charity
C has once championed the charity
D was a champion of the charity once
E championed the charity at one time

Again my guess here is 'A', but 'D' sounds more right.

Any help from experts will be appreciated! Thank you in advance!

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:600

by bek_gmat » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:11 am
It'd be great if anyone who knows how to answer to reply since i'm stuck on these questions...

Legendary Member
Followed by:13 members

by aspirant2011 » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:35 am