Please advise

Launched June 18, 2009
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Please advise

by icevaliant » Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:46 am
Hello,

I'm not the typical candidate thinking about applying to MBA programs and am in need of some advice, which would be greatly appreciated.

I was thinking about applying for the entering class of Fall 2013.

Here is my academic history:

3.91 GPA in Philosophy (BA 2007)from small, unknown liberal arts religiously affiliated school.
4.0 GPA in Philosophy (MA 2009( from California State University, Los Angeles.
3.7 GPA in Philosophy (PhD expected 2013) from the University of California, San Diego.

I haven't taken the GMAT yet, but am confident in my test-taking abilities. Though expired, my GRE (from 2006) is a 1400, 6.0 AWA. (660 V, 94%, 740 Q, 84%).

Here's the main problem from what I've gleaned in my research involving the MBA. I have no full-time work experience in business. I have several years (4+) as a teaching assistant, the last two of which consisted in my teaching my own sections.

I have several extra-curriculars, but mainly from my college days. There has been nothing recently, but I have much free time next year to pursue this and internships.

I have a few questions:

1. What would the best thing I can do at this point to enhance my profile? Since I am located at UCSD, I have access to taking some classes there, even possibly ones offered to the MBA students. I also have access to the undergraduate management and economics classes. I also have researched some possible internships for the next year. There are also plenty of leadership opportunities available.

2. How will my PhD in philosophy be looked at? Will it help? Hurt? Not be of particular advantage or disadvantage?