• Veritas Prep
    Free Veritas GMAT Class
    Experience Lesson 1 Live Free

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Veritas Prep
  • Economist Test Prep
    Free Trial & Practice Exam
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Economist Test Prep
  • PrepScholar GMAT
    5 Day FREE Trial
    Study Smarter, Not Harder

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    PrepScholar GMAT
  • Varsity Tutors
    Award-winning private GMAT tutoring
    Register now and save up to $200

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Varsity Tutors
  • EMPOWERgmat Slider
    1 Hour Free
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    EMPOWERgmat Slider
  • Target Test Prep
    5-Day Free Trial
    5-day free, full-access trial TTP Quant

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Target Test Prep
  • Kaplan Test Prep
    Free Practice Test & Review
    How would you score if you took the GMAT

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Kaplan Test Prep
  • Magoosh
    Magoosh
    Study with Magoosh GMAT prep

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Magoosh
  • e-gmat Exclusive Offer
    Get 300+ Practice Questions
    25 Video lessons and 6 Webinars for FREE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    e-gmat Exclusive Offer

Opinion on the Homeless

This topic has 6 member replies
calande Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
16 Mar 2008
Posted:
34 messages
Thanked:
1 times
Target GMAT Score:
800+

Opinion on the Homeless

Post Fri May 30, 2008 12:54 am
Elapsed Time: 00:00
  • Lap #[LAPCOUNT] ([LAPTIME])
    Hey guys,

    This one is tricky. I found that my response is the opposite of that of my text book. Please read the passage and answer the questions:
    Quote:
    According to a recent study, the majority of people in a large city believe that most homeless people are drug addicts who could get jobs if they wanted to work. However, the public is misinformed. The city's Coalition for the Homeless estimates that over 85% of the homeless population is moderately to severely mentally ill.
    • Find the conclusion, evidence and assumption in the above argument
    • Prephrase a strenghener
    • Prephrase a weakener


    Let's see what you come up with. Then I'll give you the response from my course book 8)

    _________________
    Calande.

    Need free GMAT or MBA advice from an expert? Register for Beat The GMAT now and post your question in these forums!
    Carlo75 Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts Default Avatar
    Joined
    13 May 2008
    Posted:
    64 messages
    Thanked:
    1 times
    Target GMAT Score:
    700
    Post Fri May 30, 2008 3:15 am
    I think that here we have only two pieces of evidence:
    1 - Public belief
    2 - Coalition for the Homeless estimates

    so the question stem should give us extra information in order to infer a conclusion or strengthen/weaken one of two evidence.

    Thoughts?

    calande Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts Default Avatar
    Joined
    16 Mar 2008
    Posted:
    34 messages
    Thanked:
    1 times
    Target GMAT Score:
    800+
    Post Fri May 30, 2008 3:50 am
    And who should we contradict or back? 8)

    _________________
    Calande.

    loki.gmat Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts Default Avatar
    Joined
    24 May 2008
    Posted:
    187 messages
    Followed by:
    1 members
    Thanked:
    6 times
    Post Fri May 30, 2008 10:18 am
    1) Conclusion - the public is misinformed.

    2) Evidence - The city's Coalition for the Homeless estimates that over 85% of the homeless population is moderately to severely mentally ill.

    3) Assumption - Moderately to severely mentally ill people are not drug addicts.

    4) Strengther - a statement which strengthens the above assumption.

    5) Weakener - weakens the above assumption.


    Thanks!

    Loki.

    calande Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts Default Avatar
    Joined
    16 Mar 2008
    Posted:
    34 messages
    Thanked:
    1 times
    Target GMAT Score:
    800+
    Post Fri May 30, 2008 1:10 pm
    Here's the answer of my text book:

    Quote:
    Possible strengthener for the perception of the majority of the public about the homeless: The untreated mentality ill are more likely than others to succomb to illegal drug use.

    Possible weakener for the perception of the public about the homeless: Mentally ill people are more susceptible to drug use than other members of the population.
    Now, why do we have to weaken/strengthen the public instead of the author? I'm puzzled... I weakened/strengthened the author's belief according to which the public is misinformed.

    What do you think?

    _________________
    Calande.

    loki.gmat Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts Default Avatar
    Joined
    24 May 2008
    Posted:
    187 messages
    Followed by:
    1 members
    Thanked:
    6 times
    Post Fri May 30, 2008 10:53 pm
    i dont see any issue with the answers u have provided @calande.

    plz remember we always have to weaken or strengthen the base on which an arguments stands.

    Thanks!
    Loki.

    calande Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts Default Avatar
    Joined
    16 Mar 2008
    Posted:
    34 messages
    Thanked:
    1 times
    Target GMAT Score:
    800+
    Post Sat May 31, 2008 1:51 am
    Thanks! Makes sense now Wink

    _________________
    Calande.

    Best Conversation Starters

    1 Vincen 152 topics
    2 lheiannie07 61 topics
    3 Roland2rule 49 topics
    4 ardz24 40 topics
    5 LUANDATO 32 topics
    See More Top Beat The GMAT Members...

    Most Active Experts

    1 image description Brent@GMATPrepNow

    GMAT Prep Now Teacher

    141 posts
    2 image description EconomistGMATTutor

    The Economist GMAT Tutor

    107 posts
    3 image description GMATGuruNY

    The Princeton Review Teacher

    106 posts
    4 image description Rich.C@EMPOWERgma...

    EMPOWERgmat

    104 posts
    5 image description Matt@VeritasPrep

    Veritas Prep

    76 posts
    See More Top Beat The GMAT Experts