OG 12 ing modfier revisite (adverbial or fictional )

This topic has expert replies
Legendary Member
Followed by:7 members
In a plan to stop the erosion of East Coast beaches, the Army Corps of Engineers proposed building parallel to shore a breakwater of rocks that would rise six feet above the waterline and act as a buffer, so that it absorbs the energy of crashing waves and protecting the beaches.

(A) act as a buffer, so that it absorbs
(8) act like a buffer so as to absorb
(C) act as a buffer, absorbing
(D) acting as a buffer, absorbing
(E) acting like a buffer, absorb

OA is C .

Question : What and how the adverbial modifier "absorbing..." in answer choice C modfies ? Subject of the clause is "the Army Corps of Engineers " and action is "proposed" .None seems to be modified by absobring.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:19 members
GMAT Score:760

by rkanthilal » Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:13 am
I'm not an expert on SC but here is the logic I used. The Army Corps of Engineers is building a breakwater. The rest of the sentence describes the "breakwater of rocks". The sentence describes the "breakwater of rocks" in four ways. The first two are found in the phrase "that would rise six feet above the waterline and act as a buffer". Here "rise" and "act" are parallel so this is correct. Then the sentence adds two more descriptions of the breakwater. This is found in the phrase "so that it absorbs the energy of crashing waves and protecting the beaches." This is not parallel. We need an answer that parallels "protecting the beaches". "Absorbing" does this.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:5 members
GMAT Score:730

by mohit11 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:57 am
GMATMadeEasy wrote:In a plan to stop the erosion of East Coast beaches, the Army Corps of Engineers proposed building parallel to shore a breakwater of rocks that would rise six feet above the waterline and act as a buffer, so that it absorbs the energy of crashing waves and protecting the beaches.