New study plan - what are your thoughts?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

New study plan - what are your thoughts?

by mdlyman » Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:53 pm
Hi All,

So I have been working on my GMAT prep for a few months now, and have been pleased with my progress so far. I've improved from a 540 (36Q 29V) to my high last week of 630 (40Q 36V). 44 is my high quant score and 36 is my high verbal. I'm hoping to score 680+ once all is said and done. As far as my current prep goes, I've been using Kaplan, MGMAT, and GMATPrep CATs (usually taking one each week).

I'm hoping to take the official exam first week of October and for the next month I'm thinking about mixing up my study plan. I've heard that there is no substitute for using official GMAC problems. So I'm thinking about purchasing the additional GMATPrep software question set (anyone have an opinion of these problems). Also, I'm going to purchase the additional GMATPrep CATs. I'm hoping to do 2 CATs a week leading up to the exam (but at least 1 each week).

I've been playing around with the idea of retaking my MGMAT CATs and just doing one section a night when I get home from work. For example, come home from work and do a quant section to see how I score, then the next night I'd do a verbal section. Since I don't have the time to do a full exam each night, I feel like this would be very beneficial to improve my timing strategies as well as working on problem sets that vary in type and difficulty, compared to just working on random problem sets from my prep books/GMATPrep software. Do any of you have similar experiences/strategies that you've implemented? Experts, do you think that I'm setting myself up for success? Thanks in advance for your help!

Cheers,
Mark

Legendary Member
Followed by:24 members

by GMATinsight » Sat Aug 30, 2014 4:12 am
mdlyman wrote:Hi All,