Need advice

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Need advice

by BIGGS » Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:57 pm
I just took the GMAT last week and did not do as well as I had planned. I made a 480 ( Q35 and V23 ). I am not happy at all with this. I don't know what happened because I made a 540 and 590 on the two GMATprep practice tests. I studied for a few months while working full time but plan to have more free time in January. The materials I used were the Manhattan review book and the Princeton Review (Cracking the Gmat). I also took the 2 practice tests that came with the Princeton Review materials and I scored in the mid 500s consistently. Does anyone have any advice on where to go from here? I am pretty discouraged and know that I will do better next time but I just would like to have a sense of direction. Also would taking it the end of January be too soon?

I greatly appreciate the help. Thanks.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:52 members
GMAT Score:760

by rishi raj » Wed Dec 22, 2010 11:46 pm
You have not stated your TARGET GMAT score, so it will be a little difficult to suggest whether you should be ready to take the GMAT by end January. Secondly,you forgot to mention whether you're targetting the fall 2011 session or the Fall 2012. Assuming you're targetting fall 2011 session,I think you should be done with the GMAT latest by mid Feb(if you're not targetting tier 1 schools). I think before setting out on your preparation, you should have researched well on the quality of material you were referring. If you read reviews about the Princeton Review material, the general consensus here on the forum is that it sub standard if you really want to nail the GMAT. I remember I had initially referred PR and Manhattan Review material and found them to be too easy for my liking.