Is a MBA for me? Failed a 3rd time.

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Is a MBA for me? Failed a 3rd time.

by Hukupz » Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:56 am
Hi everyone,

I've been browsing this forum for a few years in and out of my studying. I'll dive into my background a bit so everyone can understand where I'm coming from. I have a 4.0 from McMaster University in Hamilton, have passed the CFA level 1 and have a Masters degree in a Data mining (1 credit short). I've failed the GMAT 3 times now (June 2012, May 2013, and June 2014) around the same of year when applications are due in Canada.

My scores have been dismal.

2012 - 480 ~32Q ~20V
2013 - 420 ~30Q ~19V
2014 - 460 ~28Q ~25V

I know my study plan hasn't been well developed as I study for about 3 weeks each time (I should already know it doesn't work). My preparation tools were GMAT Premier 2014 and the OG 13. I completed about 90% of the GMAT Premier 2014 and 100 Q/300 V from the OG 13. My goal isn't to score a 700 like most of you, but to score a 550 to be accepted into a MBA program.

I have a chance to write the GMAT again either July 24 or Aug 1 to apply to a school I'd like to go to. I'm looking for advice because I haven't been able to do this and I'm starting to get really frustrated.

I know my first issue is I should be taking practice takes once a week and reviewing all questions. Would anyone be able to offer any other advice? I'm going to contact Irene based off the one post about attacking my verbal score, but are there any quant books I should look into? I have access to the Manhattan series if that's where I should start.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and looking forward to responses,

J

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:2 members

by AbhiJ » Fri Jun 20, 2014 5:34 am
Dude,