International/language experience but not "real" w

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:16 members
I have a question about my applicableness. I am afraid I don't have qualified work experience.
I'll tell you a little about myself, first. I am a 27 year old white American. I graduated in 2003 from Western Washington University with a BA in International Political Economy. I did well in my studies, but not superb. I graduated with a GPA around 3.5. I did however, receive a 100% on my final paper entitled "Lessons from East Asian Economic Development: A Comparative Look at Taiwan and South Korea Before and After the Asian Financial Crisis." Since graduation I have been living, studying and working in Taiwan (Republic of China). I have been studying Mandarin Chinese, both at a University as well as at language institutions. I can prove my Chinese ability as I've recently passed the TOCFL (Test of Chinese as a Foreign Language). I have yet to take the GMAT. However, I have both time and dedication. I believe I will be able to score above average (and hopefully higher) on the exam.

My question then becomes; is my work experience valid? I've read so many stories about people trying to pursue their field. I don't have a field. I'm not trying to advance my career. I've been teaching English. I've been able to teach English in Taiwan as a means to both study Chinese and travel the island. I've gained a lot, actually. I have learnt much about Taiwanese/Chinese (and Asian in general) culture. Furthermore, I have become a pretty good teacher. Both my students and fellow co-teachers have commented on my teaching ability positively. I can prove this because I've gotten pay raises every year. However, I don't want to be a teacher permanently. I want to return to America, attend graduate school, and start a new career. Obviously, I want to do something related to international economics.