I just BOMBED The GMAT!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

I just BOMBED The GMAT!

by czechchamp » Tue Jul 22, 2008 5:57 am
I took the GMAT yesterday morning and managed incredible 600 :roll: (Q42, V31 with AWA: 4)

Background: I studied for approximately 4 months and took MGMAT online course (good experience). My GMATPrep CAT's in the last week were as follows:
GMAT Prep 1 > 640 (Q43, V35)
GMAT Prep 2 > 640 (Q42, V38)
- reinstalled the software and worked on timing -
GMAT Prep 3 > 710 (Q44, V42)
GMAT Prep 4 > 710 (Q44, V44)
MGMAT CAT 6 > 690 (Q42, V41)

I took the last CAT on Saturday, 2 days before the real thing. I took it at the same time my real test was scheduled for, wrote the essays, did the whole nine yards including breaks. There were absolutely no repeated questions. Scored 690, felt good about it and confident to take the exam.

On Monday, I went to the testing center, signed up, everything went smoothly. I felt confident (keep in mind my target score was 680-690) and wrote decent essays. Took the optional break and started with math. I didn't feel great about the Quant section so before Verbal I decided to focus more on it and gain some ground lost in math. As I was working on Verbal section I felt that I was doing well, my gut feeling was telling me that I'm on track. Finished the exam, still pretty calmed and received my score of 600! With 58th percentile in Verbal!!! :evil:

I actually felt that I did good in Verbal and slipped out in math, but my math score is spot on with all of my previous CAT's (42-44); however, I do not think I EVER scored this low in Verbal! I was scoring consistently 90th + percentile in Verbal....I have no clue what went wrong, even reflecting back @ the exam I can't really see any reason behind such a pathetic Verbal score.....