HELP ME! THE GMAT IS DRIVING ME NUTSSS!! PLEASE :)

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
GMAT Score:1100
Hello! I REALLY need advice from fellow GMAT takers! I really hope you guys can help me out! :)

I started studying for the GMAT sometime in March, my initial score was 450 (Quant 20, Verbal 29).

First I took private tutoring for about 2.5 months in both Quant & Verbal to fix my basics. I used the OG 10th guide to prepare, along with some additional material that the tutors provided. However, I never completed all the verbal material.

By May I had improved my score by 100 points to 550. I was mostly focused on Quant as that was really very poor. I kept working on it & used Kaplan, Manhattan and GmatPrep to gauge my performance. I took 2, 3 Manhattan tests (avg score 600), 1 GmatPrep Tests (score 530) and 2, 3 Kaplan tests (avg score 550).

On May 28th, I finally took my first GMAT test and scored 550, Quant 36, Verbal 29. I had to get at least a 580 so I was disappointed. I was able to get an extension from the grad school and I decided to take it a month later as I was quite sure I could reach 580 at least with more practice.

This time I didn't take any private tutoring as I felt that my tutors had done what they could and their interests had diminished. So I used the beatthegmat forum and the GMATfix website. I also completed the Manhattan SC guide.
I also completed OG 12 and the OG companion guide alongwith it. However, again I wasn't able to complete all the Verbal material and again, I reaally focused on Math.

After about 3 weeks, I saw that I had improved by 50 points already, all my practice test scores (i did new tests & did gmatprep once again) were in the 600 range and for Quant I was consistently scoring in the 40-45 range while Verbal was around 30-32. I was feeling good about the test but I was also beginning to get a bit restless.