GMAT destroyed me with Score 580 (Q 48, V21, IR 7, AWA 5)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members
Hi friends,

After a 5 months continuous preparation, I appeared for the GMAT on 16th Oct. At the end of the exam, it was heartbreaking to see a score of 580 (Q48, V21, IR 7) :( :(. Even though I wasn't expecting a 700+ score in this exam, I wasn't expecting a 600- either.
Being an Engineer, I am quite comfortable with Quant section. But, Vebal section always kills me, even in mock tests. My preparation was as described below:-

For initial 2 months, I started with self-study. During this period, I covered some books such as Manhattan SC Guide, Manhattan CR Guide, OG Review 13 for Quant & SC only. For sentence corrections, MGPrep Guide was quite useful for concept buildup, but there are no practice questions. Same is true for MGPrep CR guide.

Then, I subscribed 'The Economist GMAT Tutor' with 3 months Premium Prep Plan. I enjoyed the 3 months study period with this. It is quite interactive, so I never got bored with study. I am a working professional, so do not get much time for preparation. Still, I used to spend 2-2.5 hours daily during week-days and 4-5 hours during weekends. I was quite comfortable & confidant with SC question while during preparation and during simulation tests. My accuracy with SC questions was pretty well. But, I was struggling with RC questions here.

During the whole preparation, I appeared for many mock tests (Detail is mentioned below).