GMAT, 6 times - 530 to 680 (Q47 V35) Perserverance Prevails.

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:1 members
GMAT Score:680
I tried to make this short. It really is impossible to make this short given the fact I have taken the exams so many times. At last, I am done. Find my story below.

Short History: I took the GMAT 6, yes, SIX times. My scores in sequence:

3/2007 – 530 (Q:AWFUL V:MEDIOCRE) I really don’t even know what my raw scores were for this exam. I studied for 1 month while studying for the CFA level 1 and finishing up senior year in undergrad.

3/2008 – 610 (Q37 V37)

I sat for the online version of Manhattan GMAT’s 10 week course.

I used the study guides and official guide 11th edition solely. Practice exams were in the mid 600’s. My goal was a 650. As soon as my 610 popped on the screen I knew I could beat the exam so as a knee jerk reaction I signed up to take the exam a month later (turned out to be a mistake).

5/2008 – 580 (Q35 V34)

I did a follow-up exam diagnostic with Manhattan GMAT. I decided to do the course AGAIN, only this time it was condensed over 4.5 weeks.

I also started making flash cards at this point for all types of math problems. I work in private equity but admittedly am not as quick at quant material as my counterparts! I reviewed cards in detail and was moving productively through my 1 month prep, when my grandfather passed.

Needless to say my grandfather’s passing distracted me from my routine and I crapped the bed.

8/2008 – 620 (Q42 V33)

I really pressed into studying this time taking several (4+ Manhattan GMAT exams) with results from 600-700.