For the Disheartened & Disillusioned Test Takers

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
To the disheartened & disillusioned gmat test takers of the world. If your reading this I have a feeling you’re a lot like me and may have gone though something similar. I have been coming to the forum for close to 6 months. I come to this forum for a variety of reasons. To be inspired by the high scores posted, to read the “gameplans” of others and to attempt to solve the problems posted. These are just some of the reasons why I frequent the “Beat the GMAT” Forum. It’s an excellent forum and it’s the reason why I am writing this. I want to share my experience with prepping for the test and the disaster that unfolded.

To give a quick background – I started studying for the GMAT in June of 2008(I work full time as a commercial banker so I probably studied 15-20 hrs per week). The first thing I did was take a review prep class from the Local College. It was 8 hrs long every Saturday for a Month. It was a good starter class as it warmed me up to the GMAT test. I then bought several books (OG 11th edition, Kaplan, Mgmt Books etc) I went though each book did all the problems. I did the GMAT prep tests. I did several other practice tests. I felt like I had a good grasp of the Material. So I scheduled my test for September.