Dogging the quantitative

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Dogging the quantitative

by obrienjb » Wed Oct 28, 2009 2:15 pm
Greetings,

Just took my second GMAT exam and once again I screwed up the quant portion. Quick history: I took the exam last February and got a 640 with a 51th percentile quant and 87th percentile verbal. This past exam, I studied verbal for about an hour and put all of my time into quant using the MGMAT books. I ended up with a 650 with a 41st (!) percentile quant and 97th percentile verbal. I

was going to apply R1 to schools but at this point I need to get my quant up. I think the best way to do that is to just bite the bullet and take a class. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
GMAT Score:760

by GMATBootcamp » Wed Oct 28, 2009 3:01 pm
did you track the types of errors you were making in quant while you were studying?
Paul

Focused GMAT Preparation
www.thegmatbootcamp.com

by obrienjb » Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:23 am
Hello,

Thanks for getting back to me. I tracked my errors but as you can imagine they were fairly numerous. I feel like I know the material but I get tripped up on the questions. Any recommendations on a tutor vs a class that solely focuses on quant? It's entirely possible that I'm just a simpleton.
:)

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
GMAT Score:760

by GMATBootcamp » Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:45 am
hi obrienjb,

I've actually heard pretty good reviews about manhattan and kaplan classes. Both companies have locations in most cities, and so probably offer a class in your area.

I find that the mesh between the tutor's teaching approach and students learning approach actually has a pretty big effect on score improvement. I believe both companies offer a free class audit. You should sit in through a couple of different classes with different instructors and find what works best for you.

:D
Paul

Focused GMAT Preparation
www.thegmatbootcamp.com

by obrienjb » Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:21 pm