do i get a shot with my admission in top tier school?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
one thing that concerns me the most is my GPA from undergrad, which is 2.2. I have 5+ years of work experience and trying to get a better score on gmat, around 700. Given the condition that I submit good essays and good recommendation letters (though i don't have control over this issue either), do i get a shot to get admitted to top tier MBA program even with my horrible GPA from undergrad? Thanks in advance..

Legendary Member
Followed by:14 members

by aim-wsc » Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:07 pm
Your concern is genuine as median/ave. GPA of students at top business school is higher. But it's not the only deciding factor!

I believe, everything is possible!!
Give it a shot 8)
GPA is just one of the factors that b-schools look for prospective student. your overall package with essays including kind of work experience you have plays important role!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts

by mbadrew » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:15 am
Try improving your math and english classes grades. For example, UC Berkeley has prerequisites that you can take to get into their Haas School for Business if you GPA is not really shinning. Goodluck! Try to shoot for a 720+ with a 2.2.

by amazingkev » Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:41 am
thank you all for your replies.
i'll work on my gmat first and hope that i could share good news in the future!

by Kelly McDonald » Tue Feb 26, 2008 7:40 pm
Kev,