career-MBA PHD application

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

career-MBA PHD application

by makkwende » Tue Nov 02, 2010 7:58 am
Dear consultants,

I have a Bachelors and Masters in Linguistics with GPA's 2.75 and 3.12 respectively from a leading university in Africa 1998.After the degree i worked as a translator and interpreter for a couple of years and switched careers.Since 2000 i have been working in HR (Human Resources) in the areas of Training and Development ,quality assurance and recruitment.I currently still work in HR and also volunteer as a Vice President of Communications in an HR organisation.I also have HR qualifications from london 2006 and 2008 respectively.
I took the GMAT two days ago and had a horrible score 510 so im looking to retake it.
I want to go into a PHD business program.
I have the following questions for you:
-Without a business undergraduate and graduate degree do i have to take an MBA first? I really dont want to do an MBA now and would rather get into the PHD program at once.What are my chances of admission without an MBA?
-With over 15yrs work experience especially in HR which is a business management area, does this count for anything towards my application process?
-Is there any way i could get into the PHD business program without taking this gruesome GMAT?
-Do i have to take some MBA courses to fill up my background?
Anything to assist me with this enquiry, is highly appreciated please do respond.
Cheers
Rine x

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Wed Nov 03, 2010 7:42 pm
Dear Rine x,