Can I make the cut?

Launched January 9, 2010
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Can I make the cut?

by risingsaisha » Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:27 pm
I'm 31(OMG!)/f based in California and Mumbai. I shuttle between the two cities for work and have residences in both cities and hold a green card.

I do not have a good reason for majoring in Statistics, a subject I don't enjoy very much but I guess my fate was decided by my parents. I took a lot of pain to get certifications and diplomas in Software Engineering while I was still in college. My GPA is average but I graduated 4th in my class of 50.

Work:
> I have 10 years of work experience; I have been with my current employer for 8 years and have been a key contributor in it's growth from a start-up to a multi million public company.
> My career path so far has been: software engineer (2.5 yrs)-> lead technologist (2 yrs) -> project manager (2 yrs) -> product manager (2 yrs) -> senior manager pre-sales & business development (1.5yr)
> I have led and mentored teams of 15 people; some of my engineers joined me fresh from college and continued to work with me till I moved to business development.
> Since we have several global subsidiaries, I have had the opportunity to interact with people from different places and cultures
> I have worked with customers and partners from tier 1 companies including RIM, LG, Nokia etc

Outside Work:
> I have been a strong supporter and volunteer of WorldVision India for the past 10 years. Apart from volunteering, I continue to sponsor 4 children through the organization
> I was the Youth Secretary in my church in Mumbai for 10 years and the Sunday School Secretary for 4 years - basically thats how I spent my weekends before I got married!
> I have organized several fund raisers and events for my church and organized blood donation camps and education camps while in college