can I get admitted to a good business school?

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hello Stacy -

Here is a little bit about me -
-----------------------------------
GMAT - not taken, I think score will be ~ 650 to 700 although I am studying hard to get beyond 700.

GPA - Undergrad - University of Pune, India, first class with distinction, definitely more than 3.5, Mech Engg
Graduate - 3.9 Mech Engg from Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester NY.

Resume - 2.5 yrs exp as product development engg (as a mechanical engg). Will be 3.5 yrs by the time I apply.

Publications - Three (all technical)

Extra interests -
sports - team member on softball team last year, captain of the same team this year - I am confident the team will do good this year.

I am planning to go into operations or supply chain mgmt.
-------------------------------------
A few questions -

1) My employer will pay tuition for the program, but unfortunately there are no good schools around me. Are online programs any good? If they are, can you suggest me a few.

2) Does my country of origin reduce my chances of getting into good school (luckily I am not into IT)

Thanks a lot!!!
A.

Legendary Member
Followed by:14 members

by aim-wsc » Wed May 16, 2007 8:15 pm
:lol: I like your second question and its comment. so much fuzz with IIM (c) ( Indian IT Male )

on serious note i want to ask further to Stacy that 'team captain of certain sport or member/head of some organising committe' at college level add value in your app package ''significantly''?

by axisymmetric » Thu May 17, 2007 9:30 am
Well the point I plan to make in my applications is not just being the captain -its about building a good team and keep players motivated to win.

All people on the team are pretty much working, married and what not..so they have commitments and I need to talk them into showing up at practice and games and perform good.