Cal State University Vs. Private University

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:1 members

Cal State University Vs. Private University

by Nidhs » Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:07 pm
I am planning to take the gmat very soon and thinking about applying to some universities in California. Cal states are very reasonable for an mba. Also, since I am a California resident, I have an advantage (i.e if i'm accepted) of Studying at California State Colleges at half the cost of tuition normally charged if i weren't a resident of California. The big picture , (when compared to other universities (Pepperdine, USC)), California State University would cost me 1/4th the cost of other university. Does anyone know how good Cal states are for an mba.....for egCal state Long beach or Cal State LA.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members

by beatthegmat » Thu Feb 07, 2008 9:25 pm
Cal States may be a good option for you, but be selective in where the school is located. Because these schools are smaller, their reputation reach may not be as extensive as some of the more expensive schools.
Beat The GMAT | The MBA Social Network
Community Management Team

Research Top GMAT Prep Courses:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/gmat-prep-courses

Research The World's Top MBA Programs:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/mba/school

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by dmagnia » Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:56 am
Stick to the UC's specifically Berkeley and LA.

MBA Admissions Consultant

by MBAPodcaster » Mon Feb 18, 2008 3:49 pm
If you plan to stay in Cali after you get your MBA then a good regional school like a Cal State will have name recognition with local employers. You may have a tougher time if you want to work outside the state in the future. I think it depends on what your goals are for the future. The reason why the top bschools charge so much I think is because they know you'll be making enough to pay back those loans.