Beaten by GMAT - 660 (Q50,V29). NEED HELP/ADVICE ON RETAKE

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hi everybody,

I took my GMAT today and got a hopeless 660 with 29 in verbal. I am an engineer from India with 4 years of experience. I took sabbatical and prepared for about three months dedicatedly.

During my preparation I studied from:
OG - 10,12,Verbal
Kaplan Premier and Kaplan CD Test
Manhattan verbal guides and CATs
Couple of LSAT papers and Powerscore CR bible
800.com and princeton review CATs and almost all free tests available online

Honestly admitting I was getting score in mid-30s in all verbal practice tests. By the end when I took GMAT Prep, I got V34, V33 and V37 (repeat). Thereafter, I downloaded all SC,CR and RC questions of GMAT prep and did them over last 10 days. I was able to get decent accuracy of around 80%-85% in CR,RC and of 70%-80% in SC in those questions. I was expecting somewhere around 35 in verbal (with a variance of 2) in real GMAT but then "no comments".

Another point I would like to highlight that I was not able to sleep the night before my GMAT due to obvious anxiety and nervousness. My exam was scheduled at 2 pm and I slept for hardly an hour the whole night. I believe this would have also retarded my performance as I have read it in quite few places.

Overall to summarize my experience about GMAT preparation, I have found that SC questions in GMAT prep and in real GMAT are no where close to what other study materials offer. Though OGs are somewhat representative but still the real SCs are quite different. CR and RC were same as in GMAT prep, though I found CR to be more vague and RC to be bit lengthy from GMAT prep. But undoubtedly the real GMAT is THE real GMAT.