Beat the GMAT!!! From 500 to 770 in 3 months!!!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members
I took my GMAT for the 2nd time last friday and to my surprise, I nearly aced it! (770 - V50, Q44, AWA 5)

3 months ago I took my GMAT and scored only 500. (V31, Q 27, AWA 5)
I ran out of time on quant section and was penalized for not answering few leftover questions. Before my 1st exam, I studied with only PowerScore SC and CR Bibles. I didn't do any OG problems nor did I practice Math section AT ALL.

Since I was always good in math, I thought if I focused on verbal portion, I can score in 600 range and get into the MBA program with ease.

Of course, lesson learned here is - NEVER UNDERESTIMATE GMAT!!!

I fell flat on my face without a doubt.

So I enrolled in 9 week MGMAT course and studied for GMAT again.

However, except for few tricks they taught me, MGMAT courses didn't really teach me any fundamentals. Every week, they would assign me homework and the course study was mainly self-guided study.

In class, they did teach me tricks to boost my score and save time - but other than that, it wasn't much different from say - buying books from bookstore and studying on my own.

Here's what I did to get my 770.

Verbal:

SC - Powerscore SC guide was useless. It was confusing. Then I tried MGMAT SC guide. This was GOD SENT!!!! Explanation and examples were very clear. Concentrate on few core topics such as subject-verb agreement, parallelism, etc etc and practice OG problems non stop.
(Except for CAT exams I took, I never timed myself. I wanted to actually spend time and learn from my mistakes - as well as my correct choices)
Master SC strategies in MGMAT SC guide and YOU CAN at least guarantee 30 to 35 range in verbal in my opinion.