700+ 1000 chemicals

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:4 members

700+ 1000 chemicals

by challenger63 » Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:32 pm
Of the 1,000 chemicals in coffee, less than thirty have been tested, most of which produce cancer in laboratory rats.

A. less than thirty have been tested, most of which produce cancer in laboratory
rats
B. most of which produce cancer in laboratory rats, fewer than thirty have been tested
C. most of the less than thirty tested produced cancer in laboratory rats
D. less than thirty of which have been tested, most of them produce cancer in laboratory rats
E. fewer than thirty have been tested, and most of these produce cancer in
laboratory rats

Source: Master the GMAT book
OA after discussion
If you find my post useful, please don't hesitate to click thanks button.

I am not an expert, so I can make mistakes. If you see a mistake, please notify me.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:13 members
GMAT Score:700

by hemant_rajput » Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:25 am
challenger63 wrote:Of the 1,000 chemicals in coffee, less than thirty have been tested, most of which produce cancer in laboratory rats.

A. less than thirty have been tested, most of which produce cancer in laboratory
rats
B. most of which produce cancer in laboratory rats, fewer than thirty have been tested
D. less than thirty of which have been tested, most of them produce cancer in laboratory rats
laboratory rats

OA after discussion
"Most of" is wrong idiom over here. So B and C are out. Now D has awkward construction because of "of which", so out. Now between A and E less is the correct adjective . So my vote is for A.

What is OA?
I'm no expert, just trying to work on my skills. If I've made any mistakes please bear with me.

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by vishalbpr » Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:23 am
challenger63 wrote:Of the 1,000 chemicals in coffee, less than thirty have been tested, most of which produce cancer in laboratory rats.

rats