680 score - 3rd (final) deadline disadvantage?

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

680 score - 3rd (final) deadline disadvantage?

by kb11 » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:28 am
Hi,

It took me longer than I had anticipated to commit to taking the GMAT and going back to school. I just took the exam on Saturday and received a 680, but I realize the first 2 admissions' deadlines have already passed.

To give you a little color on my background I have 8 years of experience in financial services and currently work at an energy derivatives brokerage in NYC. I hold the CAIA charter as well as series 3,7 and 63 licenses. I'm looking to go back to school because the brokerage space scares me with HF trading.

How much of a disadvantage is it applying to schools by the final deadline? And do you think I have a realistic chance of being accepted into a top 10 program? Currently looking at Kellogg, Booth, and Anderson. Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members

by [email protected] » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:12 am
Hi,

Your MBA application consists of several different elements and they all have a saying regarding your chances of getting admitted and the admissions committee looks at your profile as a whole. Your GMAT is a little low for top 10 programs. The average GMAT at the schools you are mentioning here are over 700. You may have other strengths in your profile, maybe a high GPA.
The disadvantage of applying in round 3 is that there aren't that many seats left so competition is rough. I would recommend that you wait for next year.

If you would like more in-depth insights to your individual situation, please sign up for a free consultation via this link and have your full profile evaluated within 24 hours:

https://www.mbaitnow.com/contact-bedford/

I hope this gave a you a little clarity and wish you the best of luck!