590-640-Trying hard to cross 700+

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:1 members

590-640-Trying hard to cross 700+

by conquistador » Sun Aug 02, 2015 4:41 am
I have been preparing for the GMAT exam for the past two years. I have gone through a number of resources.
Initially, I followed one private Institute material for which I have receive numerous negative feedback regarding its quality through various instructors including you.

Then I went through MGMAT books along with OG almost all except AWA, RC and IR. It helped brush basics but nor more than that.

My first GMAT score ( 590) on 28 August 2014 V 23 Q 49 AWA 4.0 IR 2

I bought E-Gmat verbal online course and went through a couple of veritas books for quant.

I completed SC and RC but not CR and IR in Egmat account(it will expire within a week).
My strengths are SC(70-80%) in verbal and quant(Not an expert though)
My weaknesses are CR and RC.

My second attempt GMAT score (640) on 28 July 2015 V 27 Q 49 AWA 5.0 IR 6
I ran out of time in IR and rushed through last 17 questions in quant section.
Whereas in Verbal section, I moved at medium pace conscious of rushing out of time in quant section.
I did not find any of the SC and RC passages too difficult to understand.
I got surprised to see my verbal performance below 30 and not far from my previous score.

I got nervous on the day before my GMAT exam and could not sleep properly till 5 Am on the test day.
I slept at 5 Am and woke up at and traveled to the test center. Had meals in the morning , drank coconut water before exam and took an apple and eye drops(did not use them) for the break. But I dont feel this affected my performance majorly since I did not feel weak during the exam.

My Mock scores hovered around 640-660 few days before the exam.