3 day TOEFL prep?! (115+/120)

You just Beat The TOEFL/IELTS/Cambridge/PTE!
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

3 day TOEFL prep?! (115+/120)

by thomasl » Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:30 am
Hey everyone,

Unfortunately, my target schools make me take the TOEFL.

My background: I received my undergraduate degree from a non-English-speaking institution in Germany, even though classes were mostly held in English. I also spend several years abroad (3 in total, mostly in the US). I have a US high school degree and also did exchange semesters during undergrad in the UK and the US, which is also where I currently work (I moved to the US in March). Most people do not even notice my slight German accent. Sure I make some grammar mistakes (especially tense, e.g. overusing the present progressing) once in while, but I still consider my English language skills pretty solid. I also already prepared for the verbal part on the GMAT.

Anyway, I have to take the test - and I don't have a lot of time to prepare! Regardless of my existing English skills, I'm sure I still have to prepare somehow for test (just like someone who has solid math skills won't be able to get a high score on the GMAT without being familiar with the format).

It would be great to get your insights on how to approach this. I'm sure there are quite a lot of people here in this forum that can resort to great English skills and vast vocab, but still had to take the test. My research was not too fruitful so far, most websites are more targeting people who start on a different level and plan to prepare for weeks - which is simply not an option.

Did any of you guys identify efficient ways to familiarize with test? As of now, all I know is that there are 4 sections and the general question type (i.e. regarding comprehension, listening comprehension + speaking, essay writing, etc.)

Is there a lot of blah I can skip?